Graciela Paraskevaídis

Graciela Paraskevaídis was born in Buenos Aires, Argentina, in 1940. She had music studies at the Conservatorio Nacional de Música in Buenos Aires, where she was a composition student of Roberto García Morillo. In 1965-66, Paraskevaídis attended courses with Gerardo Gandini, Iannis Xenakis and others on a scholarship at the Centro Latinoamericano de Altos Estudios Musicales (CLAEM) of the Instituto Torcuato Di Tella in Buenos Aires. From 1968-71, she completed composition studies with Wolfgang Fortner at the Freiburger Musikhochschule on a grant of the Deutscher Akademischer Austauschdienst. In 1984, Paraskevaídis lived in Berlin as a guest of the Berlin Artists' Programme of the Deutscher Akademischer Austauschdienst.

Her compositions have received awards in Argentina (from the Fondo Nacional de las Artes and the Municipalidad de Buenos Aires), Germany (from the Akademie der Künste in Berlin) and Uruguay (from the Juventudes Musicales) and have been performed in concerts and festivals in Asia, Europe and the Americas. She has taught extensively in private and at the Universidad Nacional in Montevideo from 1985-92. She has also given lectures and seminars and led workshops in summer and regular courses at higher music institutes in Latin America (Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, and Uruguay), as well as in Europe (Austria, Germany, Greece, Sweden, Switzerland, and the United Kingdom).

Since 1975, Paraskevaídis has been writing essays on contemporary Latin American music, several of which have been published in specialized magazines, such as Pauta, Revista Musical Chilena and MusikTexte. From 1990-99, she was co-editor of the World New Music Magazine, the yearbook of the ISCM. Since 1992, she has been a collaborator to the dictionary Komponisten der Gegenwart. Paraskevaídis is also the author of two books, “La obra sinfónica de Eduardo Fabini” (1992) and “Luis Campodónico, compositor” (1999), and co-editor of www.latinoamerica-musica-net.

She was a member of the organizing collective of the Cursos Latinoamericanos de Música Contemporánea (CLAMC) from 1975-89. She also is a member of the Núcleo Música Nueva de Montevideo and of the Sociedad Uruguaya de Música Contemporánea.

Since 1975, Paraskevaídis has lived in Uruguay and holds both Argentinian and Uruguayan citizenship.

Works (selection)

- magma I (1966/1967), nine brass instruments
- E desidero solo colori (1969), 12 female voices a cappella, text Cesare Pavese
- Die Hand voller Stunden (1970), 9 mixed voices a cappella, text Paul Celan
- Schatten (1970), soprano and baritone, text Karl Kraus
- huauqui (1975) electroacoustic, realized in elac, pequeño estudio de Montevideo
- magma V (1977), four quenas
- todavía no (1979), three flutes, three clarinets
- magma VI (1979), two trumpets, two trombones
- A entera revisación del público en general (1978-1981) electroacoustic, realized in elac, pequeño estudio de Montevideo
- un lado, otro lado (1984), piano
- magma VII (1984), fourteen wind instruments
- dos piezas para pequeño conjunto (1989), oboe, clarinet, trumpet, claves, piano
- sendas (1992), flute, oboe, clarinet, bassoon, trumpet, horn, trombone, piano
- el nervio de arnold (1992), guitar
- algún sonido de la vida (1993), two oboes
- nada (1993), solo soprano
- otra vez (1994), piano
- pero están (1994), flute, oboe, soprano
- No quiero oír ya más campanas (1995), fourteen wind instruments
- dos piezas para oboe y piano (1995), oboe, piano
- en abril (1996), piano
- hacen así (1996) , six percussionists
- ...a hombros del ruiseñor (1997), piano
- libres en el sonido presos en el sonido (1997), flute, clarinet, piano, violin, cello
- suono sogno (1997), violin
- dis cordia (1998), nine mixed voices a cappella
- contra la olvidación (1998), piano
- solos (1998), alt flute, guitar
- piezas de bolsillo (1999), percussion quartet
- dos piezas para piano (2001), piano
- ...Il remoto silenzio (2002), cello
- Soy de un país donde (2002), trumpet, horn, trombone, tuba
- Aruaru (2003), mezzosoprano, clarinet, violin, cello, piano
- y allá andará según se dice (2005), pinkillos, tarkas, sikus, 2 wankaras, 1 pair of claves
- tris (2005), oboe, bassoon, double-bass
- ático (2006), piccolo, sopranino recorder
- réplica (2007), harpsichord
- alibi (2008), saxophone quartet


Power by CentroMac